My 2015 Blind Spot Films

Every time I go to the theater, or select a movie from my ever-growing “to watch” list, I am aware that there are 10 other equally, if not more, important films that I could be watching instead. Eventually, I suppose, I’ll get around to most of them. But there are some movies — usually highly-regarded seminal classics — that I’ve never taken the time to watch, even though I really, really ought to as someone who professes an even slightly serious interest in film.

And thus my rare participation in a blog meme/thread/challenge. Initiated by James McNally of Toronto Screen Shots & Ryan McNeil of The Matinee, (and brought to my attention by the lovely Anna of Film Grimoire), the Blind Spot challenge is an attempt by nascent cinephiles to correct glaring absences in their viewing histories. Or at least, that’s my interpretation of it.

The concept is basic: Compile a list of 12 films, one for each month of the year. I tried to pick from a range of decades, directors, and settings, though I did include a wild card or two. Before the end of each month, I’ll watch one film from the list and review it here on Literary Vittles. I’ve fallen into a bad habit of watching films without reviewing them (see: Erin Brockovich, Love is Strange, Interstellar, The Babadook, etc.), which I end up regretting. Hopefully this challenge will make me more accountable as a viewer and re-viewer!

the battle of algiers 2

The Battle of Algiers (1966, dir. Gillo Pontecorvo)

The Piano

The Piano (1993, dir. Jane Campion)

We Need to Talk About Kevin

We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011, dir. Lynne Ramsay)

North by Northwest

North by Northwest (1959, dir. Alfred Hitchcock)

M 1931

M (1931, dir. Fritz Lang)

Melancholia

Melancholia (2011, dir. Lars von Trier)

Run Lola Run

Run Lola Run (1998, dir. Tom Tykwer)

Come and see

Come and See (1985, dir. Elem Klimov)

Dave Chappelle's Block Party

Dave Chappelle’s Block Party (2005, dir. Michael Gondry)

The Seventh Seal

The Seventh Seal (1957, dir. Ingmar Bergman)

at_berkeley_press

At Berkeley (2013, dir. Frederick Wiseman)

Man with a Movie Camera

Man with a Movie Camera (1929, dir. Dziga Vertov)

Which classic films have you been meaning to watch for a long, long time?

19 thoughts on “My 2015 Blind Spot Films

  1. Great!! Am really interested in seeing your reviews for each film each month. Speaking of classics I haven’t seen. I’ve watched soooo many, but am yet watch so many others.’The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari’, ‘Citizen Kane’, ‘Waterloo Bridge’, ‘Autumn Sonata’ and ‘Yentl’ are some of the popular classics am yet to watch.
    And even from your list, I have only seen ‘The Piano’ & ‘North by Northwest’, and movies like ‘The Battle of Algiers’, ‘M’, ‘Run Lola Run’ and ‘The Seventh Seal’, are films I’ve wanted to watch for ages.

    1. I haven’t seen The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari, Citizen Kane, Waterloo Bridge, Autumn Sonata, or Yentl, either! There are soooo many good movies, and not enough time to watch them all. It’s a good problem to have, though. 🙂

    1. Oh, and I forgot to add, make sure you are emotionally prepared before watching Come And See! I was in a big slump for hours after watching it. It’s the kind of film that’s amazing and horrendous at the same time.

  2. I’m glad to know, that, though I’m quite movie illiterate, at least the 2 I have heard of in that list, I have seen 😀 – Run Lola Run is great! The Piano I saw when I was about 13 so don’t really remember it, a re-watch for me 🙂 I’m looking forward to your reviews 🙂

    1. Hey Olivia!! Thanks for leaving a comment! Missing your place in Hawke’s Bay! Those big BBQ dinners were so much fun. We haven’t found that sort of camaraderie in our flat in Wellington, haha. I’m really looking forward to Run Lola Run as everyone seems to like it! And The Piano was filmed in New Zealand, so I’ve been meaning to watch it for a while now. 🙂

    1. haha well, I’m not as passionate about E.T. as a lot of people are, but I do think Wizard of Oz is a good movie. It’s interesting purely from a historical perspective because the shift from black & white to Technicolor is so dramatic & cool to watch. It’s also chock-full of symbolism, not as much as in the book, apparently, but it’s still interesting.

Share your thoughts below.

