Homemade Granola

I am more than happy to eat my beloved Clif bars every day, but sometimes it’s good to do something different. I’ve made this delicious and simple granola recipe twice now, and I figure that any repetition when it comes to recipes merits a mention on the blog.

Recipe credit: Fellow Chicago blogger See Anna Jane


ingredients 2

You will need:
5 cups dry oats (not quick)
1/8 cup chia seeds (optional, but they do keep you fuller, longer)
2 cups of chopped nuts – I used 1 cup of sliced almonds and 1 cup of chopped pecans
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
2 very ripe bananas
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup honey
1 tbsp vanilla extract

wet vs. dry

1). Preheat the oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit and line a pan with aluminum foil.

2). Combine the dry ingredients in one large bowl and mix. Peel and smash the bananas with a fork in a separate bowl, then add the rest of the wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry mix & combine.

granola, pan

3). Coat your hands with canola oil and scoop the mixture onto the baking sheet.

4). Bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

granola, ready to eat

This granola is very filling, and tastes good on its own as a snack or with some milk and fruit for breakfast. It really only takes about 10 minutes to mix everything together, and one batch of this stuff lasts me over a week!

P.S. No, I’m not allergic to gluten. I went to the store after a long day of staring at the computer and somehow I missed the opportunity to pay $2 less for regular oats with the endosperms fully intact.

14 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. This granola looks wonderful! I usually like to top off my Greek yogurt with some granola and it would be nice to be able to make and use my own mix. Pinned to try! Also, I don’t think it’s necessary to buy gluten-free packages unless you have an intolerance because it usually does translate into higher prices. I don’t have an intolerance, but I’ve purchased several g/f products to test and see if I felt a noticeable difference after eating g/f versus regular products. I didn’t feel any different after a week or so, but to each his/her own!

    1. Glad you like the sound of the recipe – let me know if you make it! I am planning to make your spring rolls recipe tonight 🙂
      Yes, I added the P.S. as an explanation for the gluten-free package of oats. I am not gluten intolerant/sensitive, and I normally steer clear of gluten-free products because I think it’s really nothing more than a food trend/marketing ploy (though I concede that some people do seem to have a serious sensitivity to gluten). Next time I will be sure to save the 2 bucks! 🙂

  2. These look fantastic! It’s always nice go have a go to recipe that works time and again (and is less expensive than buying Clif bars, I’m sure!). I also enjoy your ‘P.S’ – but at least people know there’s an option to make it gluten free! ☺️

    1. Yes, now I realize that it would be very easy to make this a gluten-free recipe! It’s just pointless to avoid the stuff unless you have a definite sensitivity to it, because “gluten free” often means “more expensive,” as I found out! Let me know if you end up making this 🙂

Share your thoughts below.

