The HUGE Book Giveaway!

Remember when I went to that American Library Association conference in Philadelphia a couple months ago? And how I got a huge stack of free advance uncorrected proofs from the publishing companies? Well, I picked up WAY more than I realized. I finally went through them and determined that I was never going to be able to read them all. But how convenient that I have a bookish blog and followers to whom I can give the extras away!

GIVEAWAY RULES

1. You must live in the United States or have a U.S. postal address.
I am paying for all of the shipping myself, and I can’t afford to ship things internationally. Sorry!

2. You must be a follower of this blog.
Again, since I’m covering all of the costs myself, I think it is fair to expect that those who win a book should have some sort of investment in my blog. I consider people followers if they are a) signed up for emails; b) follow me on WordPress; c) follow me on Bloglovin’, or d) have liked my blog’s Facebook page. Twitter isn’t enough!

3. Leave a comment on this post ranking your THREE top book picks from the options below. 
If you don’t win your top choice, hopefully you’ll win your second or third choice!
And only one comment per person, please! I will delete multiple entries from the same email address.

4. This giveaway is open for one week. I will not accept entries past 8 a.m. CST on Saturday, April 12. 
Winners will be contacted via email within a few days. Books will be shipped via media mail and should take 1.5 to 2 weeks to arrive.

Other things to remember: The vast majority of these books are advanced uncorrected proofs, meaning they have no monetary value. You cannot attempt to re-sell uncorrected proofs; the exceptions are indicated below. Finally, I just want to emphasize that I am in no way being compensated for this post/giveaway. In fact, like I’ve said twice already, I’m paying for the shipping myself!

THE BOOKS

I haven’t read any of these, so I can’t speak to their quality. All descriptions have been adapted from the back cover/inner flap.

Set 1: Young Adult Literature

YA Lit

When Audrey Met Alice by Rebecca Behrens – retails for $16.99
“First Daughter Audrey Rhodes is ready to give up and spend the next four years in the White House totally friendless–until she discovers Alice Roosevelt’s hidden diary. The former First Daughter’s outrageous antics give Audrey a ton of ideas for having fun…and get her into more trouble than she can handle.”

The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman
“Coney Island: Coralie Sardie is the daughter of the sinister impresario behind The Museum of Extraordinary Things, a boardwalk freak show that thrills the masses. An exceptional swimmer, Coralie appears as the Mermaid in her father’s “museum,” alongside performers like the Wolfman, the Butterfly Girl, and a one-hundred-year-old-turtle.”

Returning to Shore by Corinne Demas
“Her mother’s third marriage is only hours old when all hope for Clare’s fifteenth summer fades. Before she knows it, Clare is whisked away to some ancient cottage on a tiny marsh island on Cape Cod to spend the summer with her father–a man she hasn’t seen since she was three.”

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner
“Summer has begun, the beach beckons–and Francesca Schnell is going nowhere. Four years ago, Francesca’s little brother, Simon, drowned, and Francesca’s the one who should have been watching. Now Francesca is about to turn sixteen, but guilt keeps her stuck in the past.”

Set 2: Poetry & Literature Reviews
review and poetry

Turkish Review, Vol. 3, issue 2, March/April 2013
Includes the articles “Gender quotas and Turkey’s political parties”;  “God, gender, and political religion in the US and Turkey”;  and “Women and the Arab Spring: a missed opportunity?”

The F. Scott Fitzgerald Review, Vol. 11, 2013
Published by The Pennsylvania State University Press. Includes the articles “Dick Humbird and the Devil Wagon of Doom: Cars, Carnivores, and Feminine Carnality in This Side of Paradise”;   “F. Scott Fitzgerald, Virginia Woolf, and the Watch for Spots of Time”;   and “The Challenges of Retranslating The Great Gatsby into Hungarian.”

Comparative Literature Studies, Vol. 48, No. 1, 2011
Contains the articles “Breaking Out of the Rooster Coop: Violent Crime in Aravind Adiga’s White Tiger and Richard Wright’s Native Son“; “An ‘Internationalism of the Planeted Earth’: The Literary Origins of Bessie Head’s Idea of the Village”; “The Press in Novels: Credit, Power, and Mobility in William D. Howells’s Modern Instance and Lima Barreto’s Recordacoes do escrivao Isaias Caminha.”

Chasing Utopia by Nikki Giovanni – retail price $19.99
“Nikki Giovanni’s poetry has spurred movements and inspired songs, turned hearts and informed generations. She’s been hailed as a hero and as a national treasure. But Giovanni’s heart resides in the everyday, where family and lovers gather, friends commune, and those no longer with us are remembered.”

The Edgar Allan Poe Review, Vol. 14, No. 2, Autumn 2013
Includes the essays “Narrative Purpose and Legal Logic in “‘The Tell-Tale Heart'”; “MAD About ‘The Raven'”; “A Sense of Stile: Rhetoric in Edgar Allan Poe’s ‘Never Bet the Devil Your Head'”; “Purloined Letters: Edgar Allan Poe, Maria Edgeworth, and the Study of Chirography”; and “Strangled Roses: A Portrait.”

Set 3: For the kiddies
baby books

Macadoo of the Maury River by Gigi Amateau; performed by JD Jackson – retail price $19.99
A book on tape (CD). 4 hours, 21 minutes. Plays on a computer, in a CD player, or mp3 files can be transferred to an iPod or other portable music device.
“When Macadoo is just a colt, he challenges his father, a huge Belgian stallion, in order to protect his mother and the rest of the herd. From that moment on, Mac knows that his purpose in life is to help and serve others however he can.”

Babybug series: An assortment of illustrated short stories and poems appropriate for itty-bitty readers.

Babybug en español: Same idea, except in Spanish. Very cute and would be a great introduction to the language.

Set 4: Mystery & Thriller
mystery and thriller

The Stone Wife by Peter Lovesey
“At a Bath auction house, a large slab of carved stone is up for sale. At the auction, there is a hold-up attempt by three masked raiders. They shoot and kill the highest bidder, a professor who has recognized the female figure carved in the stone as Chaucer’s Wife of Bath. The would-be thieves flee, leaving the stone behind. Peter Diamond and his team are assigned to investigate.”

The Accident by Chris Pavone
“Literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious anonymous manuscript. Over the course of one long, desperate day, the manuscript will be pursued by Isabel’s eager assistant waiting for her big break; by a larger-than life film producer in LA; a veteran editor; and a wily CIA operative in Copenhagen.”

Jack of Spies by David Downing
“It is 1913, and those who follow the news closely can see that the world is teetering on the brink of war. Jack McColl, a Scottish car salesman with an uncanny ear for languages, has always hoped to make a job for himself as a spy. Unfortunately, he begins to realize what his aspiration might cost him.”

Murder in Pigale by Cara Black (please note that the author signed this for me. If that doesn’t bother you, it doesn’t bother me).
“June, 1998: Paris’s sticky summer heat is even more oppressive than usual as rowdy French football fans riot in anticipation of the World Cup. Private Investigator Aimee Leduc has been trying to slow down her hectic lifestyle–she’s five months pregnant and has the baby’s well-being to think about now. But then disaster strikes close to home.”

In the Blood by Lisa Unger
“Lana Granger lives a life of lies. She has told so many lies about where she comes from and who she is that the truth is like a cloudy nightmare she can’t quite recall. When Lana’s closest friend Beck mysteriously disappears, Lana resumes her lying ways–to friends, to the police, to herself. Lana will do anything to hide the truth, but it might not be enough to keep her ominous secrets buried.”

The Hidden Child by Camilla Lackberg
“Crime writer Erica Falck is shocked to discover a Nazi medal among her late mother’s possessions. Haunted by a childhood of neglect, she resolves to dig deep into her family’s past. Her enquiries lead her to the home of a retired history teacher. Two days later he meets a violent death.”

The Quick by Lauren Owen
“An astonishing debut novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures all the magic and menace of Victorian London.”

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh
“Folks still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching young stranger who vanished years ago from the town of Henbane, deep in the Ozark Mountains. When one of Lucy’s friends, slow-witted Cheri, is found murdered, Lucy feels haunted by the two lost girls–the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t protect.”

Last Night at the Blue Angel by Rebecca Rotert
“A highly ambitious and stylish literary debut, set against the backdrop of the early 1960s Chicago jazz scene, about a talented but troubled singer, her precocious ten-year-old daughter, and their heartbreaking relationship.”

The Soul of the Rose by Ruth Trippy
“Celia is searching for her own sense of hope after the tragic death of her closest friend. In 1876, she starts life afresh by taking a job in a Massachusetts bookstore. There she soon catches the eye of not one but two men. When one of her suitors is accused of murder, Celia is challenged with a deeper choice: should she follow her heart or her faith?”

That Old Black Magic by Mary Jane Clark – retail value $25.99
“Aspiring actress and wedding-cake decorator Piper Donovan has barely arrived in New Orleans to perfect her pastry skills at the renowned French Quarter bakery Boulangerie Bertrand when a ghastly murder rocks the magical city. Intrigued by the case, Piper can’t help but look for the ‘Hoodoo Killer’ among the faces around her.”

Mercy Snow by Tiffany Baker
“In the tiny town of Titan Falls, New Hampshire, the paper mill dictates a steady rhythm of life. But one day, a tragic bus accident sets two families on a course of destruction. When June McAllister, the wife of the local paper mill owner, discovers a dark secret about the crash that threatens to upend her picture-perfect life, she will do anything to cover it up.”

———————————————-

And that’s it! If you have questions, feel free to tweet me, ask me in the comments section below, or send an email to vliterary@gmail.com – whatever method you prefer.

Cheers, and good luck!

P.S. COMPLETELY OPTIONAL

If you like what you read on this blog, and you’re stunned by my incredible generosity and willingness to give! books! away!, then feel free to make a donation of whatever size feels appropriate to you. I’m including this only because I’m gonna have to ship two dozen books!

paypal donate button

24 thoughts on “The HUGE Book Giveaway!

  1. Okay, I was torn with the mystery/thriller books. But after seeing the comments, noone has chosen The Accident. I think all others were picked. If not I’ll take any on the Mystery/Thriller category. All the rest are girly. 😛 😀 When Audrey Met Alice sounds good though. 😉
    I’ll email you later of my address. I’m also willing to send you something from Japan to return back through mail.

  2. (1) The Stone Wife by Peter Lovesey
    (2) Jack of Spies by David Downing
    (3) The F. Scott Fitzgerald Review, Vol. 11, 2013

  3. Cool! Man, I wish I could go to a Library Conference and get a bunch of free books 😛 They all sound interesting, but my choices are: 1.The Museum of Extraordinary Things, 2. The Hidden Child, 3. The Stone Wife.

  4. Yay book giveaway! You’re the best, Alina!
    (1) The Hidden Child
    (2) Returning to Shore
    (3) The Museum of Extraordinary Things

  5. I may skip but only because I too have way too much to read (having said that, it is possible I may change my mind and revisit…;-)) but I wanted to say it is very generous of you to do this giveaway!! I’m sure it was a lot of work to type out all those descriptions too.

    1. Haha I don’t blame you! After all, that’s part of the reason why I’m giving these books away – I already have so many that I haven’t read! But yes, the giveaway is open through Friday if you change your mind, so you have some time.

      1. Alina, do you know that you can send the books by media mail? As long as you don’t include anything else in the parcel, you can mail books at quite a low rate. I was recently back at my parents’ and shipped maybe a 15 lb box of books home for under $12.

        1. Yes indeed! That is how I am planning to ship them. I imagine each parcel will cost just under $2, which isn’t bad, except that there will potentially be $24 of them. Not that $48 is a great deal of money, but ideally I would like the blog to pay for its own costs, if that makes sense? Which is why I have resisted buying one of those beautiful premium themes… haha

          1. Yes, that is still quite an expense. I’m sure that your readers won’t mind covering the shipping..? (Ha, not that I should be speaking for everyone!)

  6. What an exciting post, Alina! I would like to enter 🙂 1. The Turkish Review 2. The Quick 3. Museum of Extraordinary Things…I am always looking for fun, new reads. Maybe we could set up a book exchange of sorts? Also, I would be happy to reimburse you as well! Just happy to support your readership because you are so talented.

  7. i don’t live in the US and don’t qualify for your giveaway. i just wanted to say it’s a wonderful thing to give those books away and I hope they go to desserving homes.

    1. thank you, Niall! I’m glad you approve of the giveaway. 🙂 I don’t have as much time to spend reading as I would like, and I’d rather the books get read right away by someone who appreciates them! Someday maybe I’ll be able to do an international giveaway. Cheers.

  8. Your amazing! My choices are (a) Chasing Utopia, (b) The Museum of Extraordinary Things, and (c) In The Blood. I hope to hear from you soon.

  9. Thanks for this great giveaway. 1.Last Night at the Blue Angel..2. The Hidden Child.3. When Audrey Met Alice.

  10. This is so awesome! I’d love to enter. 1) That Old Black Magic 2) The Museum of Extraordinary Things 3) The Hidden Child. 🙂

  11. Hi, Alina, I’d like to enter. My picks are 1. The Hidden Child by Camilla Lackberg, 2. Murder in Pigale by Cara Black, and 3. The Quick by Lauren Owen. Thanks for the opportunity!

Share your thoughts below.

